FG says Resumption Date of all Schools to be announced before 7th of September

Change Your Water, Change Your Life Health Conference

Federal Government has disclosed that the resumption date for all schools in Nigeria will be announced by the Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu before 7th, September 2020.

The Minister of State for Education, Mr Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba made this statement during the briefing of the Presidential Task Force on COVID-19 on Monday in Abuja.

Mr. Nwajiuba, stated that no date has been fixed yet for full schools’ resumption even though the Federal Government had continued to engage stakeholders.

The minister, however, expressed optimism that the date for resumption was “around the corner”, adding, that “we are not going to be brandishing dates.”

He said that he and the Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu, met some stakeholders in tertiary education earlier in the day on the issue.

Nwajiuba also disclosed during the briefing that “about 78 privately-owned universities are insisting that they were ready for resumption” while the response from government-owned universities was still “50-50”.

FG Releases List of Universities Ready for Resumption, some of the universities are;

1 Achievers University, Owo

2 Adeleke University, Ede

3 Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti – Ekiti State

4 African University of Science & Technology, Abuja

5 Ajayi Crowther University, Ibadan

6 Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin

7 Al-Qalam University, Katsina

8 American University of Nigeria, Yola

9 Augustine University

10 Babcock University,Ilishan-Remo

11 Baze University

12 Bells University of Technology, Otta

13 Benson Idahosa University, Benin City

14 Bingham University, New Karu

15 Bowen University, Iwo

16 Caleb University, Lagos

17 Caritas University, Enugu

18 Chrisland University

19 Covenant University Ota

20 Crawford University Igbesa

21 Crescent University

22 Edwin Clark University, Kaigbodo

23 Elizade University, Ilara-Mokin

24 Evangel University, Akaeze

25 Fountain Unveristy, Oshogbo

26 Godfrey Okoye University, Ugwuomu-Nike – Enugu State

27 Gregory University, Uturu

28 Hallmark University, Ijebi Itele, Ogun

29 Hezekiah University, Umudi

30 Igbinedion University Okada

31 Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji

32 Kings University, Ode Omu

33 Kwararafa University, Wukari

34 Landmark University, Omu-Aran.

35 Lead City University, Ibadan

36 Madonna University, Okija

37 Mcpherson University, Seriki Sotayo, Ajebo

38 Micheal & Cecilia Ibru University

39 Mountain Top University

40 Nile University of Nigeria, Abuja

41 Novena University, Ogume

42 Obong University, Obong Ntak

43 Oduduwa University, Ipetumodu – Osun State

44 Pan-Atlantic University, Lagos

45 Paul University, Awka – Anambra State

46 Redeemer’s University, Ede

47 Renaissance University, Enugu

48 Rhema University, Obeama-Asa – Rivers State

49 Ritman University, Ikot Ekpene, Akwa Ibom

50 Salem University, Lokoja

51 Samuel Adegboyega University, Ogwa.

52 Southwestern University, Oku Owa

53 Summit University

54 Tansian University, Umunya

55 University of Mkar, Mkar

56 Veritas University, Abuja

57 Wellspring University, Evbuobanosa – Edo State

58 Wesley University. of Science & Technology, Ondo

59 Western Delta University, Oghara Delta State

60 Christopher University Mowe

61 Kola Daisi University Ibadan, Oyo State

62 Anchor University Ayobo Lagos State

63 Dominican University Ibadan Oyo State

64 Legacy University, Okija Anambra State

65 Arthur Javis University Akpoyubo Cross river State

66 Crown Hill University Eiyenkorin, Kwara State

67 Coal City University Enugu State

68 Clifford University Owerrinta Abia State

69 Admiralty University, Ibusa Delta State

70 Spiritan University, Nneochi Abia State

71 Precious Cornerstone University, Oyo

72 PAMO University of Medical Sciences, Portharcourt

73 Atiba University Oyo

74 Eko University of Medical and Health Sciences

75 Skyline University, Kano

He said that after collating all views and opinions, he would return to the PTF to review the situation and then go ahead to make a pronouncement.

The minister urged students of tertiary institutions protesting the continued closure of their schools to be a little more patient with the government.

He restated his promise that resumption date for all schools in Nigeria will be disclosed by the Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu before 7th, September 2020

About the author

Joseph Chukwuma Oputa

Joseph Chukwuma Oputa is the Managing Editor of Maslow Businessnews and Physicians News publications published by Maslow Business News Publications, Lagos, Nigeria.

Joseph Oputa is a proud Alumnus of the prestigious Nigerian Institute of Journalism, Lagos and Federal Polytechnic, Bida, Niger State.

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: